Compaq Portable - Software

cml37

Staff member
May 19, 2019
Washington, D.C. Area
Quite possibly, you'll find what you need in the form of a SoftPaq... though I am not sure how far back they go. When I was a Compaq service tech in the 486/Pentium era, they had SoftPaqs for everything.

I think that HP has long taken them off of their server, but they have been archived elsewhere. Check out the link below. You can search through the text files on the server to find SoftPaqs for your machine. Sadly, they are not indexed like they used to be back in the day, but with some hunting, you can find all of the SoftPaqs that originally pertained to your system.

Site: http://cwcyrix.nsupdate.info/ftp-archives/ftp.compaq.com/pub/softpaq/allfiles.txt

I have a Compaq DeskPro 6000. I love that system!

I'm still on the hunt for a nice LTE 5000 series. Someday, someday...

Akimori

Sep 27, 2019
Michigan
MahServer.net
Quite possibly, you'll find what you need in the form of a SoftPaq... though I am not sure how far back they go. When I was a Compaq service tech in the 486/Pentium era, they had SoftPaqs for everything.

I think that HP has long taken them off of their server, but they have been archived elsewhere. Check out the link below. You can search through the text files on the server to find SoftPaqs for your machine. Sadly, they are not indexed like they used to be back in the day, but with some hunting, you can find all of the SoftPaqs that originally pertained to your system.

Site: http://cwcyrix.nsupdate.info/ftp-archives/ftp.compaq.com/pub/softpaq/allfiles.txt

I have a Compaq DeskPro 6000. I love that system!

I'm still on the hunt for a nice LTE 5000 series. Someday, someday...
It appears there is nothing available there for the 8088 Compaq Portable, only the 80486 version, I need it for the 8088

Attachments

Markeno

Jul 19, 2019
hobbytronics.home.blog