Finding A Retro Writing Machine

co5tarica

Mar 20, 2020
David's videos have fascinated me for years now. And once I discovered George RR Martin writes his novels on a DOS laptop, I thought about how I could reflect this. As a writer I have been seeking out the most ideal, distraction free, writing process and workstation.

My experience in IT and fascination with retro computing is what led me here.

I wanted to find a Windows 98 machine, that could easily be modded for say any potential upgrades like a CF card. And something that potentially had enough parts going around to potentially repair in worst case scenarios.

Admittedly I settled on a Sager 2200T machine with a processor that was "rare" according to the seller on Ebay. It came to about $80, and only powers on when plugged in. Not a huge issue as I really would only want to use it in a desktop-like scenario. (I am open to suggestions in hardware to build a decently sized desktop machine if that may be better)

The spacebar is also not fully functional, as it will sometimes not receive input from the key. Also not a huge issue as I found an older style keyboard that types better. And is typical whenever I use a laptop in a "non-mobile" situation. Hopefully that last sentence makes sense to most of you.

I managed to upgrade the software to Windows 98 Second Edition, but it doesn't want to let me go any newer than that. As apparently I need certain drivers to go any further.

The laptop itself runs great, but any information on it seems to be completely non-existent. And there are zero guides to disassembly or repair anywhere reliable. So for any hard drive replacement to compact flash would be completely blind.